Baked Oats for Breakfast

image

So today for breakfast, decided to make Baked Oats since I have rolled oats on hand. I bought it to make Overnight Oats couple of weeks back. Like everything that I cooked or baked, the Overnight Oats were underwhelming for me. I tried a cocoa powder-peanut butter blend and it was palatable. I then tried to make a Key Lime version but it was so freaking sour.

Anyways back to Baked Oats. I tried to follow the recipe as best as I can but I’m seriously not good at adhering to recipes. Maybe because I lacked a lot of utensils. Anywho, here’s the recipe from Allrecipes.com (original recipe serves 8 but I adjusted the ingredients to serve 2)

Ingredients:
3/4 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon baking power
Pinch of salt
1/4 cup milk
1/2 beaten eggs
2 tablespoons melter butter ( I used canola oil)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
3 tablespoons of dried fruits or berries of choice ( I used fresh strawberries, chopped)

Basically first you mix all the dry ingredients, then add it the wet ingredients and bake for 40 mins. I used fresh strawberries and soy milk instead.

So result is not too bad. This is not meant to be a sweet breakfast-dessert thing. So if you want it sweet have to add on more sugar. Mine was quite alright.
image

But then I cheated a bit and add Nutella spread. Lol. It was awesome, needless to say. But Nutella tends to do that.

And here’s a rough calorie count:

image

Dad had two nibbles, which is good enough for me because he hasn’t been able to eat much. He also drank tea and glucose drink and the ABC (apple-beetroot-carrot) juice. Should be enough to carry him till lunch.

I also made egg custard. Erm, have yet to taste, hehe~

Leave a Reply

