Of broccoli failure, lunch achievement and Dad Talk: 2

Made roasted broccoli yesterday. Cut the broccoli into its florets, coated with canola oil, seasoned with salt and pepper and popped into oven. After the florets turned brown and a kind of nice baked – albeit veggie – aroma filled the air, took them out and tossed with lemon juice and parmesan cheese. And proceeded to sample one…

YUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCK!

Broccoli has now made it to my most hated vegetable list: 1. beansprouts 2. broccoli.

I was – and still am – sad at the broccoli failure. I really really wanted to like it. But it’s just too strongly veggie-tasting for me. No, no, no… never ever will I touch a broccoli in my life.

Anywho, so for today’s lunch, I had two pita stuffed with soy-mint-rosemary marinated beef chunks, fried tempeh, a bit of parmesano and… coleslaw! Heh, proud of myself that I had willingly included veggie in my meal (other than potatoes, that is). It was a simple slaw, of shredded cabbage and carrots. But of course, smothered in a bit of mayo and Japanese mayo to make it palatable. So yeay for this achievement of mine!

Still need to do more research on what other veggies I can try…

So dad… sigh, he’s decided to finally get to the hospital. His stomachache had worsen, and now he can’t poop and can’t vomit even though he gets the feels. Luckily, sis is not working today, so she, mum & bro are the ones accompanying him there. I hope doc can figure out what’s wrong. Am just hoping whatever pain he’s in now is merely side-effect from the chemo and not because the chemo is not working for him or making his condition worse.

At this point of time, du’a (supplication) is the only thing to do. It is, after all, the believer’s strongest weapon.

Leave a Reply

