Chocolate Tofu Mousse

image

I love chocolate mousse! But I do not like the idea of using raw egg yolk. So although I might order mousse in restaurants, I don’t want to make it at home. It’s a psychological thing, I suppose.

So since I started eating healthier, I am more interested in looking at healthier dessert recipes too (mostly vegan stuff). And I came across chocolate tofu mousse. What a brilliant idea! And so simple too~

image

Ingredients:
Serving size: 1
1/4 of tofu
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
Vanilla
Chocolate bar (amount to use according to preference)

Directions:
1. Blend tofu in blender/food processor till smooth.
2. Stir in sugar and touch of vanilla.
3. Melt chocolate. In my case, since I’m making only for myself, I just melted first two decks of my chocolate bar. If you like your mousse more chocolatey, melt more. You can use chocolate chips, maybe about a cup. But don’t think cocoa powder will work well though.
4. Stir in melted chocolate to tofu mixture.
5. Refrigerate for 4-5 hours. If you like it slightly more set than pudding texture, stick in freezer for another hour.

Yeay for awesome, healthy dessert! This may not be as rich as the usual mousse but it’s still chocolatey goodness. And so simple too.

Happy Saturday!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. earthchanges
    Mar 15, 2014 @ 11:56:44

    Be careful. Unfermented soy is quite dangerous. Dr. Mercola has lots of info on it. We have a link on our site. Peace Scott and C.

    Reply

  2. Amii
    Mar 17, 2014 @ 21:33:54

    This sounds so yummy. I definitely want to give it a try~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

