Rain… A Rahmah

image

I love rain. I’ve loved rain ever since I can remember. I love how cooling the weather gets, I love the sound of rain, I love it’s fresh scent, I love how much more beautiful the world seems when it’s raining.


So when after almost two months of draught, on Sunday the 16th, we finally had rain. I had no doubt in my mind that the solat istisqa’ (prayer for rain) that was performed in all the mosques in Singapore on Friday evening worked. The Muslims here were united in beseeching God’s help, and Allah answered our supplication. The skeptic might say it’s coincidence but as Muslims, we believe there is wisdom in everything that He does, even in this act of withholding and thereafter giving rain. We could only guess what the wisdom is but ultimately, we don’t know anything except what He wants us to know, and He is Al-‘Alim (All Knowing).

Since Sunday, it’s been pouring every day. I absolutely love it and am grateful. Before I started studying Islam, I never knew the significance of rain. Now that I know, it makes me appreciate rain even more and I view it truly as Allah’s rahmah.

In many sections of the Quran, Allah talks about different creations and one of the purpose of this is to make us aware of His glory and perfection and to make us reflect our place on this earth.

Rain is one of His creations that He often talk about. One of the aspects of rain Allah often talked about is how by it, He makes lifeless land produce forth crops and other vegetation. He used this parable to indicate how He would revive humanity in the same way on the Day of Judgment.

image
Credit: chrislehmanphotography.com

“It is He who sends the winds like heralds of glad tdings, going before His mercy. When they have carried heavy laden clouds, We drive them to a dead land, make water to descend thereon, and produce every kind of harvests therewith. Thus shall We raise the dead, perchance you may remember.” (Al-‘Araf/The Heights, Ayah 57).

In the above verse, the word ‘mercy’ (rahmah) holds a double meaning. One is obviously God’s mercy whilst the other meaning is rain itself. In another verse, Allah also said, “He’s the One who sends down rain after (men) have given up all hope, and He scatters His mercy. And He is The Protector, Worthy of All Praise.” (As-Shura/Council, Ayah 28).

The Arabic word used in both cases is rahmah. The easy translation is mercy but it’s not even correct. Mercy has a negative connotation to it i.e. one uses it in context of seeking relief from something bad. Rahmah shares the same linguistic root with rahm or womb. The idea of womb is of safe haven, in which all provisions are provided for. And even if a baby kicks, or causes any pain to the mother, her love never ebbs and she grows even more protective in guarding her womb and baby.

So imagine the rain being given such an important association. It’s a rahmah to mankind because it gives life to all creatures of the world by the will of their Creator.

This is just my simplistic understanding of rain as a rahmah, from what little I’ve listened to, read and contemplated. Pretty sure there’s volumes on the importance and significance of rain as highlighted in the Quran and in the ahadith out there and I barely made a scratch.

But anyways, my point is, I love rain. And I love it even more now since Allah calls it a rahmah. Before I would get annoyed when I hear people whine about the rain; now I get sad and wish people would know how beautiful this gift of God is. And don’t forget, through the Prophet Muhammad (salallahu ‘alaihi wassalam), we’re told that one of the times our supplications will not be denied is when it rains.

I don’t deny it is troublesome to get round, but honestly, being showered upon by Allah’s rahmah is worth the inconvenience. A change of perception is all we need…

P/s: Although rain is rahmah, it can also be a source of destruction. When this happens, one needs to reflect why this could happen.

Leave a Reply

